No matches

On September 1st Fnatic would see 3 players, as well as their coach, depart from the roster and the team would have a very short time to find players to fill their ranks. However, with the window for locking in rosters to get into qualifiers for the first Minors and Majors of the new Dota Pro Circuit season coming to a close, the organization seem to have found their new signings as they hope to improve on their results from last season.

With the likes of Jacky ‘EternalEnvy’ Mao, Saahil ‘UNiVeRsE’ Arora and Johan ‘pieliedie’ Åström leaving, as well as Kurtis ‘Aui_2000’ Ling also departing after the team did not really make a great showing at TI8, Fnatic were ready for a new chapter. That chapter starts now with the SEA squad picking up 2 of the players who recently departed from the Mineski lineup; namely Daryl Koh ‘iceiceice’ Pei Xiang and Anucha ‘Jabz’ Jirawong. Both players had a fantastic season with Mineski at the start of the Dota 2 Pro Circuit, winning the Dota 2 Asia Championships alongside a string of 5th/6th place finishes at different majors which helped the SEA squad secure a direct invite to The International 2018. However, much like Fnatic, Mineski suffered in Vancouver a few weeks ago and with that, the squad dissipated – leaving iceiceice and Jabz open to joining Fnatic, ready to fight in the new season.

“I like the team house a lot and Eric buys me teh halia,” said iceiceice in the official press release.

The last player to round out the Fnatic squad is a very odd addition, but one with a lot of experience behind him, Pyo ‘MP’ No-a, the South Korean who is well known from the days of MVP Phoenix, his short stint with Team Secret and more recently, his time with Immortals.

MP’s official statement upon joining Fnatic:

“I am very happy to be joining Fnatic. I arrived in Malaysia three days ago and so far, everything has been perfect. I enjoy the Malaysian food, my teammates are fun to be around and the house is very comfortable. I hope that we will bring you some exciting games in the upcoming qualifiers.”

MP is not the only former MVP and Immortals member to join the South East Asian squad. His former captain Kim “DuBu” Doo-young will take a step back from competitive play to become Fnatic’s new coach.

The full Fnatic Roster going into the new DPC season is:

  • Abed ‘Abed’ Azel-Yusop
  • Djardel ‘Dj’ Mampusti
  • Daryl Koh ‘iceiceice’ Pei Xiang
  • Anucha ‘Jabz’ Jirawong
  • Pyo ‘MP’ No-a
  • Coach: Kim DuBu Doo-young (coach)

We are excited to see how this new Fnatic Roster will perform in the new season of the DPC, especially with the likes of MP joining the SEA squad.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter