No matches
dota 728x90 RM

‘Chiu on This’ is a short and regular opinion blast

Esports Awards have announced their finalists for the Esports Journalists of the Year awards. For those who don’t know, it is an organization that is trying to be take these awards seriously and for the past few years. I can respect that as excellence should be recognized and I like all of the choices that have been named. The finalists are:

  • Richard Lewis
  • Thorin
  • Mike Kent
  • Jacob Wolf
  • Dekay
  • Emily Rand
  • Laura Valee
  • Slasher
  • Fionn
  • Travis Gafford

I don’t know what exactly the criteria is for being named journalist of the year, but I do recognize that all of the nominated above have done something unique with their careers that cannot be emulated or imitated by others. That alone is worthy of praise. I’d also like to give a special shoutout to Dekay and Emily Rand, both people I think should have been nominated over me last year as I enjoy their work and output.

For aspiring journalists, don’t get frustrated. There are quite a few out there I think do a good job, so I’ll give you the advice that I follow everyday. The hardest and most important game to win isn’t the approval of the public or your peers, it is the approval of yourself. Metaphorically speaking, the person you must compete against and slay everyday is the you from the past. It isn’t something you can always win, but the beauty of life is that we get as many chances as we have days left alive. So continue improving and refining your work until you have slayed the self from the past. Once you’ve done that, you’ll realize that even should you never get nominated or acknowledged for you work, you can still stand up proud for what you’ve accomplished.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterCopy hyperlink