No matches

A lot of teams are still to announce their rosters for the upcoming Dota Pro Circuit season. However, because this year the Minors and Majors feature no direct invite and because the open qualifiers for the first Major of the season are just a day away, PGL revealed the teams invited in the closed qualifiers.

In the European region, the one team everyone is anxiously waiting to see how they’ll perform post TI8, OG is missing from the Kuala Lumpur Major. According to a Twitter post made by PGL, OG have been invited to the European closed qualifiers but they declined and therefore they will not be present at the Major.



The qualifiers invites can be a bit hard to understand as of now, even for those who follow the Dota 2 scene closely. There are a bunch of new team names, which aren’t locked yet on Valve’s registration page and there are also big organization yet to reveal their new line-ups.

Four teams got invited in the closed qualifiers in each of the six big regions, with four more set to join them from the open qualifiers. The Open competition is held in each region in two rounds, which can only mean that top two teams from each of these rounds will advance into the closed regionals.

Kuala Lumpur Major closed qualifiers invites:

Europe: Team Liquid, Team Secret, Alliance, Shangri-La

CIS:, Odium, Winstrike, ESPADA

NA: Evil Geniuses, compLexity Gaming, Team Team, Quincy Crew

SA: Infamous, paiN Gaming, S.KO.L, Braxstone

SEA: Fnatic, TNC, Mineski, Execration

China: PSG.LGD, Team Serenity, Vici Gaming, Newbee

KL Major open qualifiers will commence tomorrow, September 10 and for those interested to give it a go, registration can still be done HERE. The closed regional qualifiers will be held in two steps, a GLS group stage followed by a double elimination bracket.

Closed Regional Qualifiers format:

Phase1: GSL Group stage

  • 8 teams split in two groups of 4
  • Top 2 teams advance in the qualifiers playoffs upper bracket
  • Bottom 2 teams advance in the qualifiers playoffs lower bracket
  • All series are best-of-three

Phase 2: Double Elimination bracket

  • All series are best-of-three
  • Top 3 teams from Europe, China and North America qualify for the Major
  • Top 2 teams from South East Asia, CIS and South America qualify for the Major


Dota 2 SEA Fans Rejoice: First Major to be Held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter